Adhering to guidelines from the CDC, Department of Health and local and state government officials, Stranahan House is following all capacity and distancing requirements. Among the necessary modifications to the Stranahan House experience are:
Face coverings are required for all guests. Staff and volunteers will be wearing masks.
Public tours will be limited. A greeter at the entrance will welcome guests and explain protocols. Guests will then move to the front porch to purchase tickets with cash or a credit card.
A curated experience led by a museum docent will take guests throughout the grounds and interior of the museum in a one-way path. There is a separate entrance and exit to allow for one-way paths.
Hand sanitizers are available throughout the property.
All doors and railings will be thoroughly wiped down after each tour. Some furnishings have been moved in the museum to allow for social distancing.
Restrooms and the administration office are closed to the public.
As always, no food or drink are allowed in the museum.
No parking is available on-site. Parking is available in the Riverside Hotel parking garage or along Las Olas Boulevard.
Built by Frank Stranahan as a trading post for settlers and the Seminole Indians in 1901, the original structure that is now known as the Historic Stranahan House Museum is the site most closely associated with the founding of the City of Fort Lauderdale and its economic and social development. Over the years, it served as the city’s post office, community center and town hall.
Today, Stranahan House Museum is the eastern anchor of Riverwalk, the waterfront park connecting Fort Lauderdale’s historic district with the arts and entertainment district. Visitors can journey through time with a guided tour of the house, which has been restored to its 1913 configuration, and enjoy fine examples of period Victorian furniture and decorative pieces.
Throughout the year, visitors can enjoy a variety of events that highlight Fort Lauderdale’s unique history through innovative and family-friendly programming.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
At a glance
- Built in 1901, Stranahan House was the home of Frank Stranahan, a Ohio native, and Ivy Cromartie, who moved from Lemon City (now North Miami) to the New River Settlement (now known as Fort Lauderdale) in 1899 at the age of 18 to work as the area's first schoolteacher.
- Passionate about education, Ivy stopped teaching professionally but continued to work with the Seminole children on the wide porches of her riverfront home, earning the respect and trust of their parents.
- A replica of Ivy's one-room schoolhouse stands today near the New River in the area of SW 2nd Avenue and SW 2nd Street.
- Stranahan House is open for daily guided tours at 1:00 p.m., 2:00 p.m. and 3:00 p.m.
- A River Ghost Tour on Sunday evenings pairs a tour of Stranahan House with a water taxi ride on the New River.
Welcome to the Historic Stranahan House Museum.
This beautiful and historic location is perfect for your private party, wedding, or charity event. Guests have celebrated life's special milestones with parties from two to two hundred guests!
Special considerations need to be discussed for parties of 150 or more. Please call 954-524-4736.